Call Now!


Our Emergency Service is Available!
  • Different Type of Lock Grades

    Posted on July 3rd, 2020 0 Comments

    Different locks are measured according to different Grades. These Grades help residential and commercial property owners determine what the general security level a lock provides. In this brief blog post, the lock installation experts here at Chicago Locksmiths will provide some detail as to the different types of lock grades.

    How to Determine the Quality Level of your Lock

    The main qualities that help determine what the quality of a lock is are, specifically: cycle count, security, functional strength, dimensions, and finishing requirement. Cycle count - in a nutshell - is how many times a lock can be used before it fully breaks and must be replaced.


    Builders Hardware Manufacturer Association Rating

    This group tests locks for quality together with the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) to develop a lock grading system. Grade 1 locks are heavy-duty commercial locks, Grade 2 are light-duty commercial locks, and Grade 3 are residential locks. Grade 1 locks are definitely the strongest.


    Finding the Proper Lock for your Residential Needs

    Different lock grade types fulfill a wide variety of needs. Grade 3 locks can easily be found at most hardware stores - but for residential needs, honestly, Grade 2 locks are a MUCH safer bet. Grade 3 locks can work well for doors inside your home that don’t require large levels of security. Grade 3 locks have been demonstrated to work well with bathrooms, closets, laundry rooms, mudrooms, and pantries.

    Share Button
  • Comment

Evicted - we provide eviction services throughtout Westchester County and New York City Find Out More
©Copyright 2010 | All Rights Reserved